The Life of H
The Life of H: Bonus Tracks
Weaving a hut of words
2
0:00
-6:57

Weaving a hut of words

I didn't realize until I saw these poems in print, that together they tell a story.
2

I wrote my poems, “Dwell,” “In this Grove,” and the “Miracle of Oil,” three months apart during the fall and winter of 2023. Other than the fact that each one refers to Sarah (as nearly all of my poems have for the past few years) I didn’t think of them as linked.

Until, that is, I saw them together in print, in the newly published anthology Weaving Through Time: Poems, Prayers, & Rituals by Members of ADVOT @Ritualwell. (Scroll down for more information on the anthology.)

When you listen to today’s audio you’ll hear the poems as a group, and along with me, you’ll discover the bigger story that’s been woven together from their words; a story of a world that changed in a moment, and whose ending we don’t yet know.


Weaving our voices together

The poems I shared in today’s audio also appear in print, interwoven with the voices of the women I spent the past year writing and creating with as part of a community hosted by Ritualwell’s ADVOT program.

The anthology our collective works are published in (edited by

and Adva Chattler) celebrates the poetry, prayers, music and rituals we created during a year of heartbreak and upheaval; a year that we were able to make more meaningful and more bearable by showing up together each week to do our creative work in one another’s virtual presence.

You can find the anthology, which is available for purchase HERE, and information on our celebratory reading (Thurs., June 27, 2024, online) HERE.


You can also purchase my newly released Little Deck of Dreams at the Ritualwell store. (Or purchase the deck through most any online retailer, or ask for it at your favorite neighborhood book or gift shop.)

Order through Ritualwell, or through any online retailer.

Order The Little Deck of Dreams


Longing for a literary adventure this summer?

Here’s a writing retreat you don’t need to pack for — or break the bank to attend

Register now for the summer Stay Home and Write online retreat.

In this low-cost Write-at-Home retreat, you’ll work on a big project or just get in the flow with daily writing prompts and virtual check-ins with a community of other writers.

A weekend retreat, Aug. 16-18, from 4 p.m. Friday through 4:30 p.m. Sunday. $75 regular price with generous sliding scale price options.

Learn more here.

Register


Summer schedule:

This summer I’ll be traveling, teaching, and working on a deadline for my next project—so I’ll be publishing on a bi-weekly, rather than a weekly schedule.


I’m dreaming with you,

The Life of H is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

You might also be interested in my other online publication: This Dream is a Poem, which you can find here.

Discussion about this podcast

The Life of H
The Life of H: Bonus Tracks
Asides, extras, spoken words
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Tzivia Gover
Recent Episodes